Centenary 2022

Our History – Further street names named after prominent Justices

Further street names named after prominent Justices of the Peace in the first 30 years of Auckland’s settlement, 1840 -1870:

Bell Road, Remuera –  F. Dillon Bell

Heaphy Street, Blockhouse Bay – Charles Heaphy VC  

O’Neill Street, Takapuna, O’Neill’s Point – James O’Neill

Eliott Street, City –  George Eliott Eliott

Owens Road, Epsom –  George B. Owens

Browning Street, Grey Lynn – Samuel Browning

Fenton Street, Orakei –  Francis D. Fenton

Dilworth Ave, Remuera – James Dilworth

Kenderdine Street, Parnell – Dr T. B. Kenderdine

Wood Street, Howick – Reader Gilson Wood

Kempthorne Street, Mission Bay –  Sampson Kempthorne

Macleans Road, Macleans Primary and College, Bucklands Beach – Every Maclean

Mary Dreaver Street, Avondale  – M. Dreaver


Researched and compiled by Ric Carlyon

Skip to content