Royal Federation

Early History of the Royal Federation of NZ Justices’ Associations Inc

In his book “Reading the Riot Act” Dr Philip Harkness JP and AJPA Life Member, chronicles the early years of the formation of the first Justices of the Peace Associations – Canterbury (1918), Wellington (1921), Auckland, Taranaki and Wanganui in 1922.

Delegates from these five regional associations met in Wellington in 1924 and established the ‘Federal Council of Honorary Justices’ Associations in New Zealand’ later to become the ‘Royal Federation of New Zealand Justices’ Associations Inc’ (RFNZJA).   Thus in 2024, the Royal Federation will also celebrate its centenary.

Over the years many groups of Justices throughout the country formed their own associations and applied to the Royal Federation for recognition and affiliation, now numbering 28 from the Far North to the Deep South.

Researched and compiled by Sherryl Wilson